

Nominations Committee 2018 Report to Board of Director for Annual Conference

The nominations committee began their work in February 2018, with the goal of formalizing policies and procedures for elections and nominations in the future, as well as selecting a slate of candidates for election at this year's annual meeting. Members of the committee included Mary Ferrill, Herb Hames, Charlotte Wilson, Fred Eckel (immediate past president), Jeff Copeland (president, ex officio member), and Ron Herman (Executive Director, invited), Susan Lutz (Secretary, committee chair), and Nena Lindrose (Administrative Director, invited).

With Nena's able assistance, a telephone conference was scheduled and held on February 20, 2018. All members noted above were in conference with the exception of Mary, who was not able to attend. Decisions were made regarding past experience of candidates, diversity of age, practice, and geographic location, adherence to the job description (posted), no nominations from the floor, and submission of CV and statement of interest. A report of the conference call was prepared and submitted to the committee. With the committee's approval, the decisions noted above were approved by the entire Board of Directors (per ByLaws) by e-mail vote.

A call for nominations was sent out from the office by Nena in early March. Voting this year is for a new Secretary and a new Treasurer, both for two-year terms. In addition, it will be necessary to elect two new members of the Board for three-year terms, as neither Gene Erb or Jordan Daniel wish to seek a second term at this time. A May 15 deadline was announced for all candidate submissions.

Once the deadline was reached, we had one candidate each for Secretary and Treasurer and four candidates for the two open board positions. (A fifth potential candidate removed himself from consideration after the deadline.) The nominations committee was notified and approved slating all four candidates for the Board, with the top two vote-getters to be declared the winners. The Secretary and Treasurer candidates have no opposition.

As a result, the slate is as follows:

For Secretary, Michael Merrick For Treasurer, Dan Spardaro For Board members: Jeff Bates Greg Carlson

Nancy Stoehr Kelly (Dahna) Zentz

My thanks to everyone for their hard work on this year's task. I am hopeful that we have provided some policies and procedures for use in the future as well as offered an acceptable slate for this year's election.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Lutz, Secretary and Chair of the Nominations Committee